Beauty In The Eyes Of A Child

This morning I was reminded by a little boy that beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I was taking Eli to my friends house that watches him and I was greeted by Spider Man! I know right! Such a fun way to start your day. OK, so it wasn’t really Spider Man, but was my friend Kelli’s little boy William dressed up. Either way, it was AWESOME!

So I get Eli settled and William starts telling me all about his costume and then he hits me (places his fist gently on my stomach) in the stomach like an super hero would. Again, he is a little guy so it wasn’t hard and he was just playing so it was sweet. I did what any good mom would do and I hit (put my fist on his belly very soft) him back. Please be reminded that when I say hit I really mean touched him very gently faking a hit. When I hit/touched his very muscly Spider Man stomach he looked at me and said, “I am muscle!”. So I looked at him and said, “I am fat.”. This is the lovely part. He then cocked his head to the side ever so slightly, smiled at me and said, “no you aren’t.”.

It made my heart skip a beat.

I drove home with a little tear in my eye reminded that beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I love the innocence of children. I just thought I should share that little moment with you all and remind all my lovely lady friends that you are beautiful, a child of the great creator, and made in His image.

This is a shot of William I got off facebook in one of his other superhero costumes. I picked one with a mask to protect him from a swarm of ladies who will surely come knocking if they knew his real identity. All kidding aside he was a true superhero in my day. Kelli and Taylor if either of you read this, keep up the great work!

 

Leave a Reply

