All Our Happenings

I need to catch you up for real! It has been six months and SO (all caps, because for real SO much) MUCH has happened, changed, developed, grown, shrunk, expanded, you get the picture. A LOT HAS HAPPENED!

It is hard for me to think back six months ago, but I am going to try my best. My last semester was a CRAZY one to say the least. I was just telling my dear friends Anna an Dodge all about it over Ivanhoe’s Ice cream last night. So it is hopefully fresh on my mind. Before we get to that, rewind 1 1/2 years ago… Eli was born three months early and stayed in the hospital for a little over two months. During that time Aaron and I went on a brunch date and layer out our dreams and goals. We decided that our main goal after having Eli was to be closer to family. Since Aaron and I both worked in Christian Higher Ed we decided that Indiana was the best option considering there are an abundance of Christian Colleges and Universities in that area. We had no idea the Lord would open doors so quickly.

The long and the short of it are that Aaron and I both applied for jobs and got them. Crazy concept right? Hahaha…in all seriousness we applied and then prayed Lord if this isn’t your will please close the doors. It sounds so simple, but it wasn’t quite as easy as that. I actually applied for my job nearly a year ago and they held the position for me for six months until my contract was up with Asbury. Aaron stayed in Kentucky a month after me because he hadn’t heard anything yet and we wanted to have the extra pay check just in case he didn’t the job he was hoping for. While we feel like the move to Indiana was totally the Lord’s will that does not mean it has been easy.

I miss Kentucky SO FREAKING MUCH! I do have family here and that has been more of a blessing than I could have ever imagined, but I have NO friends here. I moved out of Wilmore after being there for 20 years! That is a long stinking time to meet people, build relationship, make friends, get invested in a community, etc. So, basically if you are reading this and thinking wow she is pathetic, it is true. Dottie (one of my small group girls and one of the funnest people I know) lives here until December and that is awesome, but I don’t want to overrun her with my need for friends either. Basically, this extravert is having a ton of time alone, but it is teaching me a lot. Aaron and I both really like our jobs so that is good and again, being with family is AMAZING, but if you think about praying for us selfishly I really want friends.

I am sure several of you have seen on Facebook, but the other wrench in the system during this move has been Eli’s health. He has been sick for two months straight. Literally since the day we moved till now. We are seeing his old personality come back so that is encouraging but he is still not 100% in the health department. He had a cold when we moved, then a virus, ear infections, hand, foot and mouth disease, RSV and another virus that is still sticking around. We have been to 10 doctor appointments in 6 weeks and they are still not sure what is going on. Needless to say, it has been a bit of a trying time. The Lord has been faithful and we know he will continue to be, but prayers for Eli’s healing as well as patience for Aaron and me would be much appreciated.

I cannot forget to mention the best part of my last six months. It was far and away all the students at Asbury that I got to know on a deeper level this last semester, my RA’s for this year and next year, my small group, Aaron’s small group, Pike A girls. The list goes on and on. I know that every school would say they have quality students, but I can say with confidence that Asbury University has some of the greatest young people this world has to offer. My last six years working there will forever impact my life. There is a song in Wicked called “For Good” that my best friend Sarah and I always sing when we are together and in it there is a line that says, “Because I knew you. I have been changed for good.” If you have never heard it you should listen to the video below because it will rock your world.

I am rambling a bit, but really truly, those words are an honest reflects of my time at Asbury. I have been impacted tremendously by all the relationships I have developed and the quality time I have spent with each and every student at Asbury University. You know who you are! Thank you from the bottom of my heart for caring for me and my family. For thinking we had anything to offer and even wanting to spend time laughing, dancing, crying, talking, playing games and simply fellowshipping with us. There is no way that I could blog about all the events over the last six months, but below is highlight reel of sorts, via my iPhone and other people’s cameras. Let’s be honest, nobody carries around real cameras to events anymore. At least I don’t. Hee-Hee.

Rodeo with my girls

Brad Paisley Concert

Small Group girls! We had a photo shoot with Elliot Olson and it was so much fun!

Junior/Senior

Highbridge Film Festival

Graduation

I will have to do another post about our Goodbye Party hosted by the Student Development office as  well as one about our GIANT Moving Party. For now, enjoy the rather quick update and thank you for all your prayers. I hope to write again soon.

3 thoughts on “All Our Happenings

  1. I’m with Haley- keep writing! 🙂 Looking through all these pictures made me smile so much. So many good memories!

  2. Pingback: Holy Junk It’s Been a Year!!!! | mrsabbywilk

Leave a Reply

