Eli’s First Eight Point Buck!

I really wanted to title this “Nice Rack”, but rethought that and edited my funny to me thoughts and maybe not so funny to others comments. Ha!

This might be my favorite project I have ever attempted. It is all the rage to have mounted antlers in your home. Well being that neither Aaron nor I are hunters, and we live in town limits without random dead animals laying around, I had to get creative. I had found these really cute animals on One Kings Lane and I LOVED them!

Screen Shot 2013-03-14 at 10.09.46 AM

Screen Shot 2013-03-14 at 10.09.26 AM

Screen Shot 2013-03-14 at 10.09.16 AM

Screen Shot 2013-03-14 at 10.09.12 AM

Screen Shot 2013-03-14 at 10.08.50 AM

After showing these to my co-workers I decided I would rather try and make my own. I liked the look of them but I wanted them to be a bit more rustic and natural looking. I went back and forth with wether or not I wanted them to be wood or if I wanted to try it with cardboard (meaning I wouldn’t have to use a power tool). So after being real with myself and knowing there is no way I could have attempted this project with wood I went with a cardboard version for the time being.

Have I said yet that I LOVE this project! It was so fun and I had lots of fun giving it a try. I got the cardboard from my office for FREE!!! Can’t beat that! I love free! I was home with a sick little boy and we spent time coloring on the cardboard together and while he had a great time I started sketching my little deer head.

I went with the deer because we actually have those in our area. We are a little scarce on bison, moose, and bear here in Indiana. So, a deer it is!

IMG_0729

IMG_0764

Again, it was really easy. I drew an outline and then cut it out with scissors. That was a little tough, but with a little patience it worked great. These are my five total pieces all cut out.

IMG_0768

I then hot glued them all together and made my plan on spray painting. I wasn’t sure if I wanted the whole thing painted or just a part. I really liked it just plain, but there were some of my sketches left on the base piece so I knew I had to at least paint it.

IMG_0773

IMG_0774

IMG_0777

IMG_0789

I tried a few things, but decided that cling wrap worked the best. It let me cover only the places I wanted covered. I took it outside and sprayed the base. After the first coat I decided that I liked the look. There you have it!

IMG_0795

IMG_0799

IMG_0800

Done and done! It took a little time and some patience, but it was FREE, FREE, FREE! It may not be something anyone else would like, but it is cute to me and looks great in Eli’s room.

What fun projects have you done for little to know money in your home?

5 thoughts on “Eli’s First Eight Point Buck!

  1. Love the 8-point buck! It turned out great. And thanks so much for the encouragement you posted on my blog. We will take all the prayers we can get as we transition into parenthood.

  2. Pingback: House Party #3 {B.Y.O.P} + Features! - First Home Love Life

Leave a Reply

