Holy Junk It’s Been a Year!!!!

One year ago we loaded our little family  up in our car and we drove to Indiana not for a family vacation but to actually move!!! Holy junk on a stick! I cannot believe that it has been a year!! Seriously, what a year it has been. I miss Kentucky terrible and all our dear friends. You can see post about us leaving and our initial transition here and here. Our transition has been less than easy with Eli being sick, moving in with my parents, selling a home, buying a home, moving out of my parents, moving into our home, both of us starting new jobs, jobs changing and shifting a bit, trying to make friends, and just all the drama that happens in life added on top of that.

It has been a wild ride. The highlights have certainly been times spent with loved ones. Either them visiting us or us going there for the holidays. Like when Anna, Nana and Papa, Gloria and Steve as well as Aunt Emily came to visit! Also holidays like Labor Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas and Easter.

It has flown. I can easily say it has been one of the harder years of my life. I have fought lots of loneliness, doubted our decision to come and even questioned if it was truly God’s will but looking back over the year I have seen His faithfulness. Aaron and I have grown more in love with one another, I have become a better mom, bought a new house, gained several pounds, found my creative bone again, become a less selfish people in some ways and in other ways not so much. I value good, true and solid friendships. I don’t take for granted the people in my life who truly invest in my family, my parents, brother and grandparents are for sure at the top of that list. Mostly though I am reminded from looking back over the last year that I am not in control. While I wish so badly that I was most of the time I can see the Lord’s guidance, provision and faithfulness and that has taught me so much.

Really, it has just been a full year and while I know January is usually the time for reflection and setting goals I find myself looking back over this last year and doing that now as well. I want this next year in Indiana to be better than our last. Hopefully at least a little easier. Ha! I can dream right?

Let’s not forget too the purchase of our “not so dream” home. We have had lots of up hill battles with this place but in the end I think it will be a good choice just like our move to Indiana. It was a worth while investment and it has already given us a place to make lots of new memories. I still need to blog more. There are a million projects I have completed that I have not put on here. So here is my commitment to you that in the next year I will get on that lots better. Although, I will pat myself on the back because since making my new year’s resolution to blog at least once a week I have only missed twice…last week being one of the times.

I was reminded the other day by a former student about a time that I spoke during their retreat and the story that I told. It was an analogy about our lives/careers being compared to a child playing in the backyard. The kid could go from toy to toy as much as it liked as long as he or she stayed in the backyard. The same is true for each of us. We are able to go from one thing to the next in life as far as career choice or moving, but we must remain in community with our Heavenly Father. He does not care where or what we are doing as long as we are in conversation with Him. He will guide us and keep us in His will.

I know there are lots of people in transition every day and in this time of year lots of students graduating, parents making moves during the summer to start new jobs and avoid the school year, you name it. The bottom line is we never know what others are going through and it is our job to be a piece of joy in their day wether we are in transition or they are. Just like Ellen says, “Be kind to one another”.

IMG_0033

How will you make your year better for yourself and those you interact with? From my family to yours, Happy “New” Year!!!

One thought on “Holy Junk It’s Been a Year!!!!

  1. Oh my word! I cannot believe it’s been a year already!!!! Wow, wow, wow… also I miss everybody from KY or who I met in KY. I wish we could all live near each other again…. Love you! Here’s to a better year for you guys!

Leave a Reply

