Cereal Box Remix

I am not sure if any of you saw the new Cheerios boxes that have little hash marks showing you how to cut the box to make a little post card. Well if you missed it no big deal. It was a clever way to use the box but wasn’t anything that exciting. I did however cut it out and send it to my friend Emily. Yes it is something random to get in the mail but I have never met anyone who was mad about getting mail from friends, even if it was an old cereal box.

photo(1)

Well that little bit of Cheerios inspired me. I decided to cut the entire box up and make my own postcards. I am all about reduce, reuse, recycle but this took it to a whole new level. I was able to use 90% of the box and they are cute little custom postcards.

photo 1(2)

photo 2(2)I of course had to cut out the box top and that made the one side of the box smaller. In total I got 6 postcards from the box. two big and four smaller size.

photo 3(1)After I cut the box apart and had my 6 postcards I busted out of course, the washi tape!!! My best friend! It took me maybe 30 minutes to make all 6 and I cannot stop petting them. I am in love. It  is my new favorite thing. I plan on making them from all of our old cereal boxes.

photo 4What common household item have you remixed to make into something fun?

Leave a Reply

